My training is done.

Posted: October 2, 2011 in The 508

2010 Death Valley Double Century.

I have spent the last 5 months preparing for October 8th, the start of The Furnace Creek 508. I have dreamt of this race and this day for the last 10 years or so and I can’t believe it is finally here. I spent many grueling hours on the road some with my wife Robin some with the team-mate David, but most alone with some music and my thoughts. I feel I am ready both physically and mentally and will spend the next week getting ready equipment wise. David and I are lucky to have a great friend of mine as our crew chief, Chuck Clements. Chuck is a veteran at crewing with 5 Furnace Creek races, 1 Race Across America and 5 Badwater Ultra Marathons, we are in the best hands. We also have on our team my wife Robin who I know will do an incredible job taking care of us, her experience lies in over a dozen century rides in the last 2 years and racing the Rockwell Relay, a 536 mile race through Utah she and  raced on our tandem. Lastly Heath Bernstein will be on our team also. A friend of mine Heath is a fellow cyclist whom I’ve ridden with over the last 3 years, unfortunately Heath was hit by a call in January and suffered a broken hip, along with many other broken bones. He has not been able to ride since his accident but jumped at the chance to be on our crew for the race. This will be Heaths rookie year as a crew member but I think he may be back for more.

Comments
  1. lukeerwin says:

    Set those Furnace Creek roads on fire! Love and support from the Erwin Family.

  2. Steve Wu says:

    Tear it up Dave!

Leave a Reply

