Just trying to make it faster

Posted: September 26, 2011 in The 508

La Machine - My Specialized S-Works Tarmac SL2

So I decided to buy some new hoops for the bike. I couldn’t make up my mind and ended up with a pair of Reynolds SDV66 Tubular wheels and a pair of Reynolds DV3K Tubulars. After some more research and a phone call to my little brother I settled on the SDV66’s. They are deeper, 66mm versus 46mm. They are lighter 1424 grams versus 1519 grams and those numbers are with the provided skewers and they will be more aero. The SDV66 is a beautiful wheel and I got them at an incredible price. The weight is nice and light and with the taller profile it gives them a shorter spoke length. Aero DT spokes with 16 in the front radial laced and 20 in the rear. Both front and rear are laced to DT hubs, can you say “Bombproof” I was very impressed with the skewers too at 64 grams for both and very minimal in design.

The tire I chose are the Continental 4000SR 22mm Tubular. I have ridden on the Continental 4000S 23mm clincher for the last 2 years and have been extremely impressed with their performance and how well they wear. It has been over 20 years since the last time I glued up a tire and was not looking forward to the upcoming task of marrying the new Conti’s to the new Reynolds, enter Tufo Extreme Tubular Tape. All I can say is this stuff is the only way to go and makes it so easy. I was a little leery at first but after some more research everyone raves about using this tape. It took me about 5 minutes per tire and was SOOOO EASYYYY.

Test ride some time this week, even a short little jaunt around the neighborhood and these things feel so fast, can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

